Decisions in the Mitropa Rally Cup in Bassano


Hermann Gassner wins the title for the 7th time. Rino Muradore successful in the Historics.

  • Albert von Thurn und Taxis with co-driver Bernhard Ettel (DEU/AUT) take a start-finish victory with their Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo
  • Veteran Hermann Gaßner sen. wins this year's Mitropa Rally Cup Championship with co-driver Karin Tannhäuser (DEU)
  • Italian Rino Muradore wins the classification for historic vehicles
  • Martin Kainz from Germany wins the Club Championship

Showdown at the 39th Rally Città di Bassano (28.-29.10.22) in Italy. At the last round of this year's Mitropa Rally Cup (MRC), however, the winner of the championship was already decided before the start. Due to the absence of Fekete (HUN) and Noller (DEU), Hermann Gaßner sen. could not be denied the victory of this year's MRC. This is the 7th time in his career that he has won the "unofficial European Rally Championship for private drivers", as the Mitropa Rally Cup is affectionately called by its fans.
Albert von Thurn und Taxis with co-driver Bernhard Ettel drove a flawless start/finish victory. After the opening stage on Friday evening, Thomas Lorenz is in second place behind von Thurn und Taxis, followed by Liam Müller, Hermann Gaßner sen. (all DEU) and the Hungarian László in fifth place.
After the restart on Saturday morning, Hermann Gaßner sen. directly rode an attack and took second place behind Albert von Thurn und Taxis. Lorenz, Göttig and Müller were left behind. In the following special stage, however, Liam Müller and his Opel Corsa Rally4 retired due to an accident. Göttig counterattacks and takes over 2nd place from Gaßner. Rüdiger Dilg, who is competing here for the first time with a Peugeot 208 Rally4, moves up to 5th place.
After the lunch break, Gaßner takes over second place again, while von Thurn und Taxis continuously extends his lead as the leader. But Stefan Göttig wants to know it and takes over second place again on special stage 6 and will not give it up again until the finish. Thus Albert von Thurn und Taxis is the first to cross the finish ramp, followed by Stefan Göttig and Hermann Gaßner sen. Furthermore, von Thurn und Taxis is happy about his excellent 10th place overall in this event with a strong field of 25 Rally2 cars. "After a less than ideal start to this year's season, we didn't necessarily expect to be able to win the Mitropa Cup," says Hermann Gaßner sen. "We are all the more pleased that we were able to clinch the championship title for the 7th time this year."
There was also excitement in the MRC classification for historic vehicles. Here, too, the championship was decided at the last round of the season. It was the Italian duel between MRC newcomer Paolo Lulli and veteran Rino Muradore. Naturally, Lulli in the Peugeot 205 GTi 1.6 had no chance against the husky Ford Escort RS 2000 MKII. Muradore won and in the end both opponents were equal on points in the championship. In this case, the better result of the last run counts, which means that Rino Muradore can claim another victory in the Mitropa Rally Historic Cup.
Even before the start it was clear that Martin Kainz (DEU) had decided the classification in the Club Championship in 2022 in his favour. Kainz safely crossed the finish line with another victory that was never threatened, ahead of his only competitor Angelo Martinis (ITA).
The Rally Città di Bassano led over 329 kilometres total length and 7 special stages with a total length of almost 100 kilometres through the mountainous regions of northern Italy.

Click here for the annual ranking of the Mitropa Rally Cup.

Weiter zur Newsübersicht